The Silent Age #1

So I was browsing through my steam list and I came across this game. I have no idea what it’s even about or where I got it from. I’m going to give it a go though, even though some of the reviews say that staring at a wall for 3 hours is more entertaining XD

So I’m called up to see the boss via a note attached to my office/ supply closet. My immediate thoughts when talking to the boss, is that I’m going to be murdered to silence me for some reason. There’s very little exposition before I’ve been thrown into the game and the boss seems very sus. Especially since Frank has disappeared. So I’m getting stuck with both my duties and Frank’s job with no pay rise or new title. It’s a really shitty promotion. 

To not give the boss a reason to murder me, I went off to the basement to start on my new chores. There’s blood in the elevator.. And a hatch is open in the top too. I tried climbing up through it but my character says that there’s no way he’s tall enough for that. Fair enough, I guess. 

I get off when it stops, and there’s a trail of blood leading to a closed door with a broken panel next to it. I fixed up the panel using a plastic glove I picked up earlier in the level, in order to touch the split wires. I knew to pick up the glove because it stood out compared to the non-interactive parts of the environment. Now you’d think that should be a standard in puzzle design, but I’ve seen some where I literally have to click everything in an area just to make sure I pick up the item because it didn’t stand out. So it was a pleasant surprise and was greatly appreciated.

I enter the next room and I find more blood. A lot more blood. It’s pooling under the door to another room. I found a handkerchief, which apparently the next logical step is to dip it into the blood. My character Joe, wants to show it to management. I have no idea why.  I really want to immediately take it to the police but the only phone I’ve seen in this building is in the boss’s office. I haven’t seen an exit to the building either. Where is even my work…?

I brought the bloody handkerchief up to the receptionist and she took it from me. She wrongly assumed that I had hurt myself because my character cannot speak to save himself. She gave me a bandaid, yep that’s good enough to fix whatever wound completely soaked the handkerchief >.> I used the bandaid to open the door that had blood pooling beneath it and found an injured old guy in the room. There was a suspicious lack of blood, but I don’t think that has anything to do with the plot.  

 Apparently this game deals with time-travel. I wouldn’t have guessed. The world is going to end and I have to give this time travel device to present day him to stop him from doing something? Then he dies. This has started out spectacularly. I wonder what’s going to happen next.

Leave a Reply

