Elements [Art]

girl sitting in a cave

This was an entry to a contest on deviantart. The prompt was Elements.

It is inspired by the many video games that represent the elements by crystals and I guess that’s why I immediately came up with this after reading the prompt. In this piece, the elements, fire, water, earth and water are represented by the crystals. 

I chose a cave setting because surprise surprise, most of the time all the elements are found there. The rocky walls are the earth, its dark and wet because of the water flowing down into its depths, air blows through the nooks and crannies making it a very cold experience. And fire is what we use to light our way.  

You could say they’re all represented in the piece without the crystals, and fire is there because there is light coming from somewhere. All the colours of the elements are reflected in the girl who I wanted in there because it just added more life to the piece.

This picture has the most notes out of everything posted on my tumblr. Why? Because somebody liked it enough to put it on tumblr radar. Of course I didn’t know that at first. I awoke to the annoying pings of my tablet notifying me that something was happening. I flicked the screen and saw all these likes and comments coming in.

Then came the flood of follows. 250 followers at the end of that. I had at the time like 3o followers, which jumped up to that number in less than a few hours. It really wasn’t a pleasant experience. It’s validating that so many people liked my art, but I felt like anything I posted after that would be a disappointment to the numerous people who followed me.

Leave a Reply

