A New Start

Bit of a late start but hey.

My original goal for this blog was to get over my anxiety with talking/ writing on the internet. I’d like to think I’ve improved since then, but I still find myself stuck when it comes to communicating to others my ideas/ thoughts. My new goal is to connect with others and improve upon my communication skills.That’s pretty much why this is public rather than a diary.Β I’d also like to develop a consistent posting schedule and stick to it. My aim is to post at the very least once a week.

It’s probably time that I do a proper and updated introduction. My name is Jess, I’m 22 years old and still a student. Since the beginning of my blog, I’ve completed my Certificate IV in Design and a Bachelor of Design (Games). I’m now currently doing a Bachelor of Computer Science. I’ve dipped my toes in the Games Industry and I’m loving what I’ve done so far. It’s something I definitely want to pursue further.

Now ontoΒ my hobbies, since they’re what I’ll be blogging on mostly. I love video games, pretty much all of them except fighters. Those are fun to play for a couple of hours but after that they get really boring and repetitive. I much rather games that focus on simulation, or have a really engaging story.

Speaking of story, that leads me onto my next hobby which is… reading. I love supernatural, romance, crime, adventure and fantasy kinds of books. I especially love terribly written, angsty over-melodramatic stories. I think that comes from all the awful fanfiction I read while growing up, it has a special place in my heart.

I am an artist, so I’ll be posting my art pieces that I draw in my spare time and for projects on here. I’ve done traditional art, digital art, animation and pixel art. Currently I’m doing pixel art for the game Aura of Worlds, I’ve been working on that since the start of last year. So intermixed my thoughts/ life events, you’ll get to see some of my interesting works. I can’t say I’m much of a movie kind of gal, but I do watch a lot of tv-shows which means there’ll probably be a few things on what I end up watching.

I guess that’s about it.Β Until next time πŸ™‚

11 Responses to A New Start

  1. leet_g33k says:

    This all sounds great! I look forward learning more about your art and game development, and whatever musings you care to share.

    I know it probably doesn’t help, but there’s absolutely no need to feel anxiety in this medium. I think everyone who comes across your blog is equally as excited as you are to be in this space, and to engage with your ideas. I sure am! *highfive*

  2. Hey Jessica, I really like your Games section. I am big on video games, I mostly play through Steam and I must say I clocked up quite a few hours πŸ˜€ Mostly RPG… At some point I wanted to do a few reviews, but I just can’t seem to find the time. I hope you’ll write more and I’ll make sure to read.

    • Jess says:

      Heya, thanks! πŸ˜€ Steam’s great for getting all those bargains. I have such a backlog of games that I don’t even know what to do XD I can understand about not having the time, but you should totally do some reviews, they don’t have to be realllly long ones. Short and simple is always good, I’d definitely give them a read πŸ˜› I’m planning on writing regularly about things πŸ˜€

  3. Can’t wait to read more from you! πŸ™‚

  4. johnrubens says:

    Reblogged this on JohnRubens and commented:
    kindred focus

  5. apw513 says:

    Great post. I couldn’t stop reading your post! and it seems a lot of people have gravitated to your blog! I also am going to try to post once a week! Let’s do this!

Leave a Reply

