Evoland

I decided to take a little break from scripting and go through some of my backlog of games. I decided on Evoland because when I first saw it, I really wanted to play it.

The idea behind it was what really got me interested but I quickly found that it was poorly executed. It got boring. While it does explore the progression of RPG games, it does it in an extremely shallow way. It lacks the understanding of the core mechanics that made the games that this game explores, classics.

It constantly makes small digs at commonly found tropes in this genre of gaming but doesn’t really go anywhere with it. The developers could’ve deconstructed them and perhaps subverted them and yet there’s nothing. It’s kind of disappointing.

I really only found one section of the game truly enjoyable. It was simple puzzle where the player has to switch between 2D(top down, old rpg style) and 3D to solve. I really wanted to see more of this, to see this concept explored further. But like the rest of the game, it does this just as shallow.

I’m currently up to the last boss in the game and I’m really not enjoying it. It’s not a bad game because it has its moments. It’s just lacking and I’ve decided that I just don’t want to play it anymore.

Leave a Reply

